January 31, 2013

rules were meant to be broken

Posted in mousie at 10:17 pm by Anonymouse

I had something else to blog about tonight, but then I came home and found my baby in bed naked from the waist down.

No big deal, right?

I have this rule about always putting the children to bed with SOMETHING over their diaper/panties. Shorts, pants, bloomers, you get the idea.

No unobstructed access to diapers (when we used diapers – hallelujah for past tense!) and at least effort times two to nakedness.

Every night I go into Pipsqueak’s room after she is asleep and make sure her little naked feet are under the covers (because they never are).

So tonight when I got home from a Mexican birthday fiesta with some friends, I check on Pipsqueak, who – for reasons that are not pertinent – went to bed in only her princess panties (pull-up) and a tshirt.

Sure enough, she proved to me that my two layers on top of skin rule is a good one.

The child was laying on top of her quilt in a tshirt and nothing else.

Naked as a jaybird from the waist down.

You better believe I said a little prayer as I approached her bed that she hadn’t peed…or that if she had it would magically disappear in the half second between when I saw her and when I felt the bed.

Well, the Lord answered one of my prayers.

I don’t need to know which one.

1 Comment »

  1. herewegoajen said,

    Hooray! There is nothing better than not having to change sheets in the middle of the night.


Leave a Reply

