November 3, 2007

en-title-ment

Posted in mousie at 11:55 pm by Anonymouse

I have always wanted to be called Auntie.  Not ANT-IE, but ON-Tee…old school style.  And not Auntie Lizzie (my name…gasp!), just Auntie.  Due to the fact that I am a frivolous nut compared to my oh-so-practical in-laws, I have reserved this title for the children of my sister (that don’t exist and may never exist) to escape certain loony-labels from the more sensible branch of the family.  So, to my actual nephew (and now niece), I am Aunt Lizzie.  Plain, old practical Aunt Lizzie.

Speaking of me being anything but plain and practical (frivolous nut, anyone?), I found out tonight that my brother/sister-in-law want to ship my 20 month old nephew to the big city to spend a few days with his Aunt Lizzie, and I’m so excited about it that I can’t sleep.  Yep, I was sleepy right up until Husband listened to the message from Brother-in-Law as I was climbing into bed.  Then my mind started reeling as I contemplated all the fun we were going to have walking to the park, eating candy and drinking soda (what are aunts for, if not to spoil?), playing with ghetto things like tupperware and spoonulas and decorative rattan balls from Pier 1 because I have exactly two real toys…

and of course…practicing saying “Auntie”.

of505904421.jpg

2 Comments »

  1. Rach said,

    Now that is one cute kid. He looks like “Dennis the Menace: the early years.”

  2. anonymouseandcheese said,

    Don’t worry, Rach…he was not a cute newborn. I know how you feel about the newborn cuteness bias.


Leave a comment