June 22, 2010

kids say the darndest things and grown ups just think them

Posted in mousie at 9:35 pm by Anonymouse

Today, my mom’s group had an informal play-date at a local park.  It was hot and swarming with some day camp (or something) elementary aged kids.  I had a good time though.

It’s funny what you see and hear when you’re at the park with a bunch of kids.

  • Lots of little girls liked to help Baby Swiss go down the slide and walk across the bridge-y thing, etc.
  • Most bigger kids acted like they had no clue that other people even existed, but some were sweet and would get out of the way to make room for less agile littler kiddos.
  • Some random kids told me their names and/or how certain playground equipment worked.
  • One kid’s sister defended her three year-old thumb-sucking brother from the “baby” label.
  • A little boy asked me why Baby Swiss was a “brown girl”.  Then he answered his own question with another question, “is it because she’s adopted?”

At one point, I was busy being social and wasn’t paying attention to the fact that my kid was sitting at the top of the slide, not taking her turn while other kids waiting and another mom nicely was encouraging her to go and also looking for the brown girl’s mama.  She turned to the only non-caucasian person at the playground, who happens to be Hispanic and have the most non-Hispanic name you’ve ever heard (first & last), and that lady wouldn’t claim Baby Swiss.  Probably because that Hispanic lady with the Irish name is not the brown girl’s mama.

It’s me.

Who would have guessed?

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Obviously, you need to have them all read your blog, so that they will recognize Baby Swiss immediately.

  2. Rach said,

    LOVE. IT.

    Can’t wait to talk to you tomorrow…there is one thing in the way of us going for it, and I need your perspective!

    p.s. I agree with Jen
    p.p.s. you should write a book. I’d buy it.


Leave a comment